Classic FM's Jamie Crick Presides Over a Full House at London’s Hippodrome

Loftus Media Scoops Coveted Indie of the Year Award

Mike Hally awarded the First-Ever RPA Gold Award

Eloise Whitmore is Producer of the Year

The Radio Academy and The Radio Independents Group (RIG) revealed the winners of the highly anticipated 2013 Radio Production Awards at London’s glitzy Hippodrome in November.

Hosted by Classic FM’s Jamie Crick who presided over a full house, these awards recognise and celebrate the work of UK based radio and audio producers and are now in their fourth year.

Fourteen awards were handed out in all, including the highly-prized Indie of the Year Award scooped by Loftus Media, praised by the judges for their “insightful and thought-provoking programmes.

Two new categories were also introduced into the awards mix this year – The Production Hero Award and The Gold Award.

The Production Hero Award, which recognises exceptional achievements made over and above the call of duty went to Chad McKenzie of TBI Media. The judges said: “He has demonstrated a broad range of skills across multiple disciplines which he is clearly utilising to an impressive standard at his current company. He has a bright future ahead of him.

The Gold Award, designed to celebrate the achievements of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to radio production in the UK was presented to a delighted Mike Hally, the founder of the Radio Independents Group by the BBC’s Director for Radio, Helen Boaden.

Paul RobinsonCEO of The Radio Academy, said: "On behalf of The Radio Academy it is my pleasure and honour to congratulate all of the winners of this year’s RPAs. You are the high achievers in our industry, continually setting new bars for the rest of us to leap over and ensuring that UK listeners are treated to the very best radio productions in the world."

Phil Critchlow, Chair of the Radio Independents Group (RIG), said: “Another great night at the RPAs fully acknowledged the best work by the people who actually conceive and deliver content. It also showed that radio certainly continues to inspire, challenge and feed the creative energies of those at the top of their game in our sector.

full list of winners:

Best Documentary / Feature Maker - Sponsored by Radio Times

Ben Taylor - Snappin' Turtle Productions

Best Entertainment Producer - Sponsored by Wise Buddah:

David Tyler - Pozzitive

Best Music Entertainment Producer:

Tom Whalley - Wise Buddah

Best Live Music Producer / Engineer:

Joe Adams - Absolute Radio

Best Podcast / Online Producer- Sponsored by Broadcast News:

Matt Hill - Freelance

Best Multi-Platform Creator - Sponsored by Whistledown Studios:

Owen Hopkin - Classic FM

Best Drama / Readings Producer - Sponsored by ECOVIS Wingrave Yeats:

Joby Waldman - Somethin' Else

Best Newcomer - Sponsored by Sound Women:

Isabel Sutton - Just Radio Ltd

Best Creative - Sponsored by Just Radio:

Nathan Freeman - BBC Radio 6 Music

Best Sound Designer - Sponsored by Moving Air:

Eloise Whitmore - Somethin' Else

Production Hero Award - Sponsored by Champion Accountants

Chad McKenzie - TBI Media

Producer of the Year

Eloise Whitmore - Somethin' Else

Indie of the Year - Sponsored by Creative Skillset

Gold: Loftus Media
Silver: USP Content
Bronze: Whistledown Productions

Gold Award - Sponsored by Allan hapman & James

Mike Hally

The Radio Academy and the Radio Independents Group would like to say a very big 'thank you' to all our judges who contributed their time and expertise - we couldn't do it without you.

Congratulations to all the night's Winners!