At last the waiting was over as the winners of this year's RIG/Radio Academy Radio Production Awards were announced at a lively evening on the 12th July, hosted by comedian Jon Holmes.

RPAs logo

The new award for "Producer of the Year", given to the best of the winners of all the other individual categories, was won by Rebecca Maxted, from Wise Buddah Creative.  The award was named in honour of Gillian Hush MBE, the noted producer of features and readings from the 1960s to the 90's, who died on 28th June.

The other major award of the night, for "Indie of the Year" was awarded to Whistledown Productions (Gold), Somethin' Else (Silver) and TBI Media (Bronze).
The individual category winners were:

Best Documentary/Feature Maker  (sponsored by Radio Times) 
Rebecca Maxted - Wise Buddah Creative
Best Entertainment Producer  
Jon Holmes - Unusual Productions
Best Music Entertainment Producer  
Sue Clark - Sue Clark Productions
Best Live Music Producer/Engineer (sponsored by Champion Accountants) 
Russell Finch – Somethin’ Else
Best Online Creator
Mark Newman - Flaps Podcast
Best Multi Platform Creator 
Heather Davies - Trevor Dann's Company & Unusual Productions
Best Drama/Readings Producer (sponsored by Allan Chapman James Ltd) 
Rosalind Ayres - Jarvis & Ayres Productions
Best Newcomer (sponsored by Resonance 104.4FM) 
Rose de Larrabeiti - Whistledown Productions
Best Creative (sponsored by Creative Skillset) 
Jonathan Young - talkSPORT (UTV Radio)
Best Sound Designer  
Mark Pittam - TBI Media